Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Read about Accessibility on the Telecommunications Ombudsman website


The Board is chaired by an independent Director and contains a balanced mix of Directors with industry and consumer experience, an Independent Director with not-foe-profit governance experience and Independent Director with commercial governance experience. The Board has adopted a charter that setsoutitsrolesandresponsibilities.

Independent Chair

Patricia Faulkner AO - BA, Dip Ed., MBA, FIPAA - Company Director

Patricia Faulkner

Patricia is Chair of the following bodies: Jesuit Social Services, Ministerial Advisory Council for the Statewide Services and Infrastructure Plan and Deputy Chair of St Vincent's Healthcare Australia. Patricia is Director and Chair of Public Transport Victoria. She is a member of the Commonwealth GrantsCommission,theNationalAustraliaBank'sSocialResponsibilityAdvisory  Committee and the Melbourne Racing Club Committee. Patricia is also a Director of Committee for Economic Development Australia and Melbourne Theatre Company.


Director with industry experience

David Epstein BA Company Director

David Epstein

David Epstein is immediate past Vice-President, Corporate Affairs and Regulatory Affairs for Singtel Optus. Educated at the ANU and Wharton, he is an experienced corporate affairs executive with a background in marketing, regulatory affairs and public affairs, both internationally and in Australia.Hiscareerspanspublicandprivatesectors,includingtime  as a senior ministerial adviser to three Prime Ministers, culminating as Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister. He is also a board member of the Europe Australian Business Council, Asia Society (New York) Australia Centre and Opera Australia.

Director with consumer experience

Dr Paul Harrison - PhD, GAICD, MAM - Senior Lecturer, Deakin University

Paul Harrison

Dr Paul Harrison is the Unit Chair and Senior Lecturer of Consumer Behaviour, Deakin Business School at Deakin University, Director of Deakin University's Centre for Organisational Health and Consumer Wellbeing and Visiting Professor of Marketing and Human Resources, Universit√† Cattolica del Sacro Cuore,Milan.Paulresearchesandwritesinthefieldsofconsumer  behaviour, behavioural economics, and consumer policy, and his work is published widely, both nationally and internationally. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a member of the Consumer Insights Panel of the EssentialServicesCommission,theAustralianandNewZealandMarketingAcademy,  European Institute for Advanced Studies in Management, American Marketing Association, UK Academy of Marketing, Macromarketing Society, Transcend and the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN). He is an Expert PanelmemberforSocialMarketingatVicHealth,andformerchair  of the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre. Paul was elected to the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman Board in 2014, and was re-appointed in 2016 for a term of three years.

Independent Director with not-for-profit governance experience

Professor The Hon. Michael Lavarch AO, LLB, Company Director

TIO Board Member Michael Lavarch

Michael Lavarch has held senior roles in government, including serving as Australia’s Attorney-General (1993-1996). He has also held the roles of Secretary-General of the Law Council of Australia and Executive Dean of the Faculty of Law at the Queensland University of Technology. He is currentlyaCommissionerfortheAustralianSkillsQualityAuthority,Chief  Adjudicator of the Alcohol Beverages Advertising Code adjudication panel and the Independent Chair of the Board of Australia's Financial Ombudsman Service. In 2012, Michael was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguishedservicetolaw,educationandhumanrights.

Director with industry experience

Mr John Lindsay GAICD MACS Company Director

TIO Board Member John Lindsay

John Lindsay is a company director and consultant. He is a director of UltraServe Internet Pty Ltd, an enterprise ecommerce hosting company and NanoNouvelle Pty Ltd, a nano-material research and development startup. John has 22 years' experience building and managing ISPs including Chariot, InternodeandiiNetLtd.Hisconsultingclientsarelargelyfocused  on internet and telecommunications, ranging from small ISPs to government agencies.

Director with consumer experience

Catriona Lowe - LLB - Company Director

Catriona Lowe

Catriona is the current Treasurer of the Consumers' Federation of Australia and a member of the board of the Financial Ombudsman Service. She is also Co-Chair of the ACCC's Consumer Consultative Committee, as well as being a member of the Legal Practitioners Liability Committee. She has more than 15years'litigationexperienceacrosstheprivateandNGOsectorsand  has provided advice to senior stakeholders including State and Federal government departments and authorities. Catriona became a member of the TIO Council in July 2012.

Independent Director with commercial governance experience

Geoff Nicholson - BEc, MBA, FCA, GAICD, CSEP - Non-Executive Director, Consultant

Geoff Nicholson

In addition to his role on the TIO Board, Geoff is Deputy Chair of Launch Housing Limited and is a non-executive director of Homeground Realestate Pty Ltd, United Energy Distribution Holdings Limited, Marchment Hill Consulting Pty Ltd and Athletics Australia Limited. Geoff’s former positions includetheChairmanofHanoverWelfareServices,non-executivedirectorof  Sensis and the KAZ Computing Group, Chief Financial Officer at AusNet Services and executive director, Finance Business Services at Telstra Corporation Limited. He was also Foxtel's first Chief Financial Officer from 1995-1996. GeoffwasappointedtotheTelecommunicationsIndustryOmbudsmanBoardin  February 2016.

Director with consumer experience

Gordon Renouf BA LLB CEO, Ethical Consumers Australia

Gordon Renouf

Gordon Renouf, who has been a consumer advocate for more than 25 years, is the founder and CEO of Ethical Consumers Australia, a social enterprise that aims to help consumers make choices that match their values. He is Deputy Chair of the Consumers Federation of Australia and Justice Connect, and ChairofGoodEnvironmentalChoiceAustralia,andaMemberof  the Banking Code Compliance and Monitoring Committee.

Director with industry experience

Jules Scarlett - BA LLB (Hons) - Director - Commercial Operations, Telstra Wholesale

Jules Scarlett

Jules is Director, Commercial Operations at Telstra Wholesale. Jules has worked for Telstra for over 15 years and first joined the Board of the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman Ltd in November 2009.

Customer service

Case Study - Customer Service

A man contacted us because he had made a payment twice by mistake. Each time he called the service provider he had to explain his situation again as if it was the first time.

Next step?