Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Read about Accessibility on the Telecommunications Ombudsman website

Members endorse new governance model

18 March 2014

Telecommunications service providers, the members of Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman Limited, voted on 26 February in favour of a new governance model that has resulted in a single Board of Directors.

The new Board has a balanced mix of consumer and industry representatives, independent directors and an independent chair.

The new model was designed by a transition committee comprising equal numbers of members from Board and Council, who drew on best practice models and aimed to address the needs of our stakeholders.

Service providers voted on a proposal that had been unanimously approved by the TIO's Board and Council after extensive consultation with government, consumers and industry.

Members of the new Board include a balanced mix of current Board and Council members with industry and consumer experience. Two new independent Directors were selected to fill the positions of Chair and Director with not-for-profit governance experience.

Patricia Faulkner AO has been appointed as the new Chair of the Board of TIO Ltd. Patricia is currently chair of the National Health Performance Authority, Superpartners, Jesuit Social Service and deputy chair of St. Vincent's Health Australia.

Philippa Smith AM has been appointed as new Independent Director with not-for-profit governance experience. Philippa currently chairs Food Standards Australia New Zealand, is a director of First State Super, and is a member of the NSW Civic and Administrative Tribunal. The TIO's governing documents also change as a result of the vote. A new Constitution replaces the former Articles of Association, while the old Constitution is renamed Terms of Reference.

The jurisdiction of the TIO and its day-to-day operations remain unchanged.

Recent Posts:

Disputed credit default listing

case study - credit listing

Next step?              

  • make an online complaint
  • 1800 062 058                
  • Write PO Box 276
    Collins Street West Vic 8007                            
  • National Relay Service Call on 1800 555 677 then ask for 1800 062 058            
  • Fax our consumer complaint form to 1800 630 614