Skip to Navigation Skip to Content Read about Accessibility on the Telecommunications Ombudsman website

Members support unitary governance structure for TIO Ltd

06 March 2014

The members of Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman Ltd voted on 26 February 2014 to move from a governance structure comprising a Board and a Council to a single Board of Directors.

The new Board is independently chaired by Patricia Faulkner AO, currently chair of the National Health Performance Authority, Superpartners, Jesuit Social Services and the Federal Government Health and Hospitals Infrastructure Fund.

The new Board is a balanced mix of directors who will streamline decision-making and provide consistent oversight of the TIO by a single body. It consists of four directors with consumer experience, four directors with industry experience, and two independent directors.

Most of the new Board's directors are members of the former TIO Board or Council. The exception is newly appointed independent director Philippa Smith AM, who is a former Commonwealth Ombudsman.

The jurisdiction of the TIO scheme and its day-to-day operations will be largely unchanged.

Faulty internet

Case Study - Complainant 1

A woman contacted us about speed and drop-out issues with her wireless internet connection.

Next step?              

  • make an online complaint
  • 1800 062 058                
  • Write PO Box 276
    Collins Street West Vic 8007                            
  • National Relay Service Call on 1800 555 677 then ask for 1800 062 058            
  • Fax our consumer complaint form to 1800 630 614